Mentor Network

The Mentor Network consists of LMU faculty who are willing to share their expertise with patience, diplomacy and resourcefulness in order to help someone grow professionally. The list provided below is organized alphabetically by the particular topic area in which faculty have volunteered their expertise. Feel free to contact the faculty on this list directly. They have volunteered to help.

This same list organized by faculty name is available here.

Art, Creativity and Ritual
Debra Linesch, Marital and Family Therapy
dlinesch@lmu.edu
 
Art Culture and Faith
Judith Royer, C.S.J., Theatre Arts
jroyer@lmu.edu
 
Art & Theatre in Los Angeles
Judith Royer, C.S.J., Theatre Arts
jroyer@lmu.edu
 
Asian Film
Sue Scheibler, Film and TV Studies
sscheibler@lmu.edu
 
Asian Theatre
Katherine B. Free, Theatre Arts
kfree@lmu.edu
 
Balancing Parenting and Career
Karen Mary Davalos, Chicana/o Studies
kdavalos@lmu.edu
 
Balancing Parenting with Teaching and Professional Work
Katherine Noon, Theatre Arts
knoon@lmu.edu
Barbequing
Tom Klein
tomklein@lmu.edu

Capstone Courses
Dean Scheibel, Communication Studies
dscheibel@lmu.edu
 
Child Development/Adolescent Development and Creativity
Debra Linesch, Marital and Family Therapy
dlinesch@lmu.edu
 
Childrearing Issues for Parents who live in Separate Homes
Katherine Noon, Theatre Arts
knoon@lmu.edu
 
Children and Art
Terry Lenihan, Art and Art History
tlenihan@lmu.edu
 
Children and Art
Debra Linesch, Marital and Family Therapy
dlinesch@lmu.edu
 
Chinese Chess
Han Dai-Yu, Art and Art History
hdaiyu@lmu.edu

Chinese Culture
Robin Wang, Philosophy
rwang@lmu.edu

Chinese Language
Han Dai-Yu, Art and Art History
hdaiyu@lmu.edu
 
Chinese Painting
Han Dai-Yu, Art and Art History
hdaiyu@lmu.edu
 
Civil Rights
Robert Singleton, Economics
rsinglet@lmu.edu
 
Computer Lab Research (Training in)
Dorothea Herreiner, Economics
dherreiner@lmu.edu
 
Contemporary Art–Art in LA
Damon Willick, Art and Art History
dwillick@lmu.edu
 
Creating Life Balance
Chris Manning, Finance/CIS
cmanning@lmu.edu
 
Creative Arts Research
Tom Klein
tomklein@lmu.edu

Creative Problem Solving
Michael Manoogian, Civil Engineering
mmanoogi@lmu.edu
 
Creative Problem Solving
Michael E. Mulvihill, Civil Engineering
mmulvihill@lmu.edu
 
Creative Process
Ron Marasco, Theatre Arts
rmarasco@lmu.edu
 
Dance
Judy Scalin, Dance
jscalin@lmu.edu  
 
Dance in LA
Scott Heinzerling, Dance
sheinzer@lmu.edu  
 
Dance in LA
Teresa Heiland
theiland@lmu.edu

Diversity Curriculum
Karen Mary Davalos, Chicana/o Studies
kdavalos@lmu.edu
 
Diversity, Entertainment Industry
Gerald Alcantar, Management
galcantar@lmu.edu
 
Diversity Issues
Robert Singleton, Economics
rsinglet@lmu.edu  
 
Diversity Issues
Abhik Roy, Communication Studies
Aroy2@lmu.edu
 
Documentary Film
Sue Scheibler, Film and TV studies
sscheibler@lmu.edu
 
Experimental/Ensemble Theatre in LA and the USA
Katherine Noon, Theatre Arts
knoon@lmu.edu
 
Economics
Robert Singleton, Economics
rsinglet@lmu.edu
 
Ethnographic Research
Dean Scheibel, Communication Studies
dscheibel@lmu.edu
 
Family Development and Creativity
Debra Linesch, Marital and Family Therapy
dlinesch@lmu.edu
 
Film Theory
Sue Scheibler, Film and TV Studies
sscheibler@lmu.edu
 
Fulbright
Jim Fredericks, Theological Studies
jfrederi@lmu.edu
 
Fulbright Scholarship
Katherine Harper, Art and Art History
kharper@lmu.edu
 
Gay and Lesbian Faculty Issues
Jeffrey Wilson, Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts
jwilson@lmu.edu
 
Gender Issues Related to Women in Mathematics and Science
Jackie Dewar, Mathematics
jdewar@lmu.edu
 
Getting Around in LA
Dan Weingarten, Theatre Arts
dweingar@lmu.edu
 
Grant Writing
Rafiqul Noorani, Mechanical Engineering
rnoorani@lmu.edu
 
Grant Writing
Karen Mary Davalos, Chicana/o Studies
kdavalos@lmu.edu
 
Greek and Roman Drama
Katherine B. Free, Theatre Arts
kfree@lmu.edu
 
Hiking and Rock Climbing
Ed Mosteig, Mathematics
emosteig@lmu.edu
 
Housing and Family Issues in Los Angeles
Jose Saez, Engineering
jsaez@lmu.edu  
 
Ignatian Spirituality
Frances Gussenhoven, R.S.H.M., Center for Ignatian Spirituality
fgussenh@lmu.edu
 
Improving Technology on Campus
Robert Winsor, Marketing and Business Law
rwinsor@lmu.edu
 
Instructional Issues in the Arts
Paul Humphrey, Music
phumphreys@lmu.edu
 
Integrating Music into the Curriculum
Michael Miranda, Music
mmiranda@lmu.edu
 
Intercultural Communication
Abhik Roy, Communication Studies
Aroy2@lmu.edu
 
International New Faculty
Jose Garcia-Moreno, Film and Television
jgarcia@lmu.edu
 
Issues of Identity and Visual Representation
Garland Kirkpatrick, Art and Art History
gkirkpatrick@lmu.edu
John Cage
Virginia Saya
vsaya@lmu.edu

Judaism
Holli Levitsky, English
holli.levitsky@lmu.edu
 
Journal Editing/Publishing
Douglas Burton-Christie, Theological Studies
dburton@lmu.edu
 
Junior Faculty Seminar
Dorothea Herreiner, Economics
dherreiner@lmu.edu
 
K-12 Education
Judy Scalin, Dance
jscalin@lmu.edu
 
Korean Culture
Saeri Cho, Art and Art History
scho6@lmu.edu

LA Public and Private School Systems
Nina Maria Lozano-Reich, Communication Studies
nreich@lmu.edu
 
Laban Movement Analysis
Teresa Heiland
theiland@lmu.edu

Labor/Employment
Gerald Alcantar, Management
gerald.alcantar@fox.com
 
Living in Westchester
Tom Klein
tomklein@lmu.edu

LMU Childcare
Nina Maria Lozano-Reich, Communication Studies
nreich@lmu.edu
 
Loving LMU
Judy Scalin, Dance
jscalin@lmu.edu
 
Meditation in the Classroom/Studio
Jane Brucker, Art and Art History
jbrucker@lmu.edu
 
Mentoring Faculty of Color
Ron K. Barrett, Psychology
rbarrett@lmu.edu
 
Mentoring Faculty of Color
Karen Mary Davalos, Chicana/o Studies
kdavalos@lmu.edu
 
Mentor for Faculty of Color
Garland Kirkpatrick, Art and Art History
gkirkpatrick@lmu.edu
 
Mentoring for Mission
Jane Brucker, Art and Art History
jbrucker@lmu.edu
 
Mentoring for Mission
Terry Lenihan, Art and Art History
tlenihan@lmu.edu
 
Mentoring Minority Students in Engineering & Science
José Saez, Civil Engineering
jsaez@lmu.edu  
 
Mission Issues
Michael Horan, Theological Studies
mhoran@lmu.edu
 
Music-Guitar
Michael Miranda, Music
mmiranda@lmu.edu
 
New Faculty Experiences
Kam Dahlquist, Biology
kdahlquist@lmu.edu  
 
Non-Catholics help with Catholic Environment
Jim Fredericks, Theological Studies
jfrederi@lmu.edu
 
Organizational Culture
Dean Scheibel, Communication Studies
dscheibel@lmu.edu
Opera
Virginia Saya
vsaya@lmu.edu

Outdoor Recreation around LA
Brian Treanor, Philosophy  
btreanor@lmu.edu
 
Parenting Special Needs Kids
Curt Bennett, Mathematics
cbennett@lmu.edu
 
Promotion and Tenure
Michael Manoogian, Civil Engineering
mmanoogi@lmu.edu
 
Public Speaking (Professional)
Ron K. Barrett, Psychology
rbarrett@lmu.edu
 
Public Transportation/Transportation Alternatives
Diane Meyer, Art and Art History
meyer_diane@yahoo.com
Publishing in Academic Journals
Karen Mary Davalos, Chicana/o Studies
kdavalos@lmu.edu
 
Outdoor Activities in LA
Rob Burchfield, Film and Television
rburchfield@lmu.edu
 
Pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela
Herbert A. Medina, Mathematics
hmedina@lmu.edu  
 
Racism in the Classroom (Dealing with)
Karen Mary Davalos, Chicana/o Studies
kdavalos@lmu.edu
 
Religious life
Frances Gussenhoven, R.S.H.M., Center for Ignatian Spirituality
fgussenh@lmu.edu

Research Projects
Ron Marasco, Theatre Arts
rmarasco@lmu.edu
 
Rock and Roll
Dean Scheibel, Communication Studies
dscheibel@lmu.edu
 
Running & Biking
Herbert A. Medina, Mathematics
hmedina@lmu.edu
 
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Curt Bennett, Mathematics
cbennett@lmu.edu
 
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Jackie Dewar, Mathematics
jdewar@lmu.edu
 
Service Learning
Terry Lenihan, Art and Art History
tlenihan@lmu.edu
 
Small Group Facilitation
Michael Horan, Theological Studies
mhoran@lmu.edu
 
Social Design and Visualizing Social Issues
Garland Kirkpatrick, Art and Art History
gkirkpatrick@lmu.edu
 
Social Justice Education
Terry Lenihan, Art and Art History
tlenihan@lmu.edu
 
Socially Responsible Design
Garland Kirkpatrick, Art and Art History
gkirkpatrick@lmu.edu
 
Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius
Frances Gussenhoven, R.S.H.M., Center for Ignatian Spirituality
fgussenh@lmu.edu
 
Spirituality and Art
Jane Brucker, Art and Art History
jbrucker@lmu.edu
 
Spirituality and Art
Debra Linesch, Marital and Family Therapy
dlinesch@lmu.edu
 
Study Abroad (Teaching in)
Aine O'Healy, Modern Languages and Literatures
aohealy@lmu.edu
 
Study Abroad (Teaching in)
Herbert A. Medina, Mathematics
hmedina@lmu.edu
 
Study Abroad (Teaching in)
Dorothea Herreiner, Economics
dherreiner@lmu.edu
 
Surfing
Patrick Shanahan, Mathematics
pshanahan@lmu.edu
 
Team Teaching
Jeffrey Wilson, Philosophy
jwilson@lmu.edu
 
Techniques for Creative Student Critique
Jane Brucker, Art and Art History
jbrucker@lmu.edu
 
Theatre History and Dramatic Literature
Katherine B. Free, Theatre Arts
kfree@lmu.edu
 
Theatre in LA
Ron Marasco, Theatre Arts
rmarasco@lmu.edu
 
Theatre in LA
Dan Weingarten, Theatre Arts
dweingar@lmu.edu
 
Travel
Dolphy Abraham, Finance/Business
dabraham@lmu.edu
 
Traveling in India and Asia
Katherine Harper, Art and Art History
kharper@lmu.edu
 
Undocumented Students
Herbert A. Medina, Mathematics
hmedina@lmu.edu  
 
Using Technology in the Classroom
Robert Winsor, Marketing and Business Law
rwinsor@lmu.edu
 
Video Games
Sue Scheibler, Film and TV Studies
sscheibler@lmu.edu
 
Visual Arts
Scott Heinzerling, Dance
sheinzer@lmu.edu

Walking in LA
Herbert A. Medina, Mathematics
hmedina@lmu.edu

Wellness-Somatics Pilates
Teresa Heiland
theiland@lmu.edu

West Los Angeles (Life-Long Resident)
Gerald Alcantar, Management
gerald.alcantar@fox.com
 
Women’s Issues
Robin Wang, Philosophy
rwang@lmu.edu
 
Work and Family Balance
Paige Edley, Communication Studies
pedley@lmu.edu
Yoga
Teresa Heiland
theiland@lmu.edu

Do you want to become part of the network? Send us an e-mail (ofd@lmu.edu) telling us about some of your areas of expertise.  We will contact you to let you know that you have been added to the list.