Inclusive Excellence Grants and Awards

Inclusive Excellence Grants and Awards

LMU's University Intercultural Council (UIC) aims to identify and fund higher education research and inclusive excellence projects that help LMU achieve its mission by way of infusing diversity and interculturalism throughout the campus community. 

UIC Membership includes staff and faculty who represent various departments and units across campus.

The Office of the Vice President for Intercultural Affairs and LMU's UIC invites campus constituencies to submit proposals for Inclusive Excellence Grants and nominations for Inclusive Excellence Awards. Inclusive excellence re-envisions both quality and diversity. It reflects a striving for excellence in higher education that has been made more inclusive by decades of campus and national work to infuse diversity into recruiting, admissions, and hiring; into the curriculum and co-curriculum; and into administrative structures and practices. It also embraces newer forms of excellence, and expanded ways to measure excellence, that take into account research on learning and brain functioning, the assessment movement, and more nuanced accountability structures. In the same way, diversity efforts move beyond numbers of students or programs as end goals.  Instead, diversity and inclusion together, become a multilayered process through which we achieve excellence in learning, research and teaching; student development; institutional functioning; local and global community engagement; workforce development, and more (Clayton-Pederson, O’Neill & Musil, 2009). 

Call for Inclusive Excellence Grant Proposals - Due March 16. 2018

Call for IE Grants: Higher Ed Research

Call for IE Grants: Projects

Call for Inclusive Excellence Award Nominations - Due March 16. 2018

 Call for IE Award Nominations


Inclusive Excellence Grant Recipients

Inclusive Excellence Grants aims to identify and fund higher education research and inclusive excellence projects that help LMU achieve its mission by way of infusing diversity and interculturalism throughout the campus community. 

Higher Education Research

  • Committee on the Status of Women: CSW conducted a needs assessment for a Women’s and Gender Equity Resource Center at LMU. (2012-2013 Cycle)
  • Leslie Ponciano, Assistant Professor, School of Education: Ponciano conducted a needs assessment of foster youth-specific services that are available at LMU.  (2013-2014 Cycle)
  • Fernando Estrada, Assistant Professor, School of Education: Estrada studied a teaching alliance in courses that focus on multicultural and diversity content. (2014-2015 cycle)
  • Sandra Luca, Director, Student Engagement, Seaver College of Science and Engineering: Luca will research academic experiences and sense of belonging of STEM students in A Community Committed to Excellence in Scientific Scholarship (ACCESS) Program. (2015-2016 Cycle)
  • Susan Burkhauser, Research Associate, Institutional Research: Burkhauser will conduct a study on the impact of faculty of color on retention of students of color. (2017-2018 Cycle)

Recruitment, Retention and Campus Climate Projects

  • Brandon Tanori, graduate student in the School of Film and Television: Tanori helped to broaden the School of Film and Television’s graduate school recruitment efforts by reaching out to Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). (2012-2013 Cycle)
  • Jamie Hazlitt, Outreach Librarian, and Raymundo Andrade, Library Cataloging Assistant: Hazlitt and Andrade provided technology and library skill development workshops to LMU’s service staff.  (2013-2014 Cycle)
  • La’Tonya Rease Miles, Director, Academic Resource Center:  Rease Miles expanded and enhance the Writing Community Workshop series for students who are the first in their families to go to college.  (2013-2014 Cycle)
  • Melvin Robert, Director, Office of Black Student Services: Robert provided monthly workshops wherein students will gain historical context in addition to practical knowledge.  (2013-2014 Cycle)
  • Maruth Figueroa, Director, Chicano/Latino Student Services: Figueroa provided a yearlong program for 12-15 sophomores.  The program focused on leadership capacity and empowerment using public narrative.  (2014-2015 Cycle) 
  • Maruth Figueroa, Aris Mosier, and Nathan Sessoms, Directors, Ethnic and Intercultural Services: Figueroa, Mosier and Sessoms will provide a program targeted at academically talented sophomores to assist them in exploring their identities while learning about the social and economic contexts of Los Angeles. (2015-2016 Cycle)
  • Maggie Bove-LaMonica, Assistant Director, LMU Family of Schools: Bove-LaMonica will utilize the grant to support the Leadership Education Advocacy Fellowship (LEAF) Initiative Fellows. (2016-2017 Cycle)
  • Karie Huchting, Associate Professor, Education Leadership and Brad Stone, Professor, Philosophy: Huchting and Stone will enhance the retention of African American doctoral students by supporting their attendance to the Black Doctoral Network Conference. (2017-2018 Cycle)
  • Hannon Library’s Aisha Conner-Gaten, Instructional Design Librarian; Javier Garibay, Librarian-in-Residence; Jamie Hazlitt, Librarian for Collection Development and Evaluation; Marie Kennedy, Serials & Electronic Resources Librarian; and Marisa Ramirez, Electronic Resources Assistant: Conner-Gaten, Garibay, Hazlitt, Kennedy and Ramirez will conduct an assessment of the library’s electronic collection through a lens of diversity. (2017-2018 Cycle)


Inclusive Excellence Awards

The Inclusive Excellence Awards recognize faculty, staff, administrators,  and student organizations that have enhanced inclusive excellence and contributed to a more equitable and inclusive campus environment.


  • Inclusive Excellence Exemplary Higher Education Leadership Award: Nora Murphy and Adam Fingerhut – for leading efforts to educate LMU faculty on implicit bias
  • Inclusive Excellence Exceptional Staff Team Award: Marissa Montes, Emily Robinson, Alejandro Barajas, and Sandra Ruiz -  for providing pro bono legal services to indigent and immigrant communities in the Greater LA area
  • Inclusive Excellence Exceptional Staff Team Award: Elaine Coates, Laurel Schmolze, Jeff Schwartz, and Michelle Yeung – for testing, rollout and adoption of Brightspace, including making it ADA compliant


A.R. Clayton-Pederson, N. O’Neill, & C.M. Musil (2009). Making Excellence Inclusive: A Framework for Embedding Diversity and Inclusion into Colleges and Universities’ Academic Excellence Mission. Washington, DC: Association of American Colleges and Universities.