• Fall 2019 Faculty

    Honors Colloquium: Intro to Honors
    Vandana Thadani, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Psychology
    vthadani@lmu.edu
    Honors Philosophical Inquiry
    Daniel Speak, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Philosophy
    daniel.speak@lmu.edu
    Honors Theological Inquiry
    Anna Harrison, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Department of Theological Studies
    anna.harrison@lmu.edu
    Charlotte Radler, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Department of Theological Studies
    charlotte.radler@lmu.edu
    Honors Colloquium: Research and Exhibition
    John Dionisio, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    dondi@lmu.edu
    Honors Historical Analysis and Perspective
    Nigel Raab, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of History
    nigel.raab@lmu.edu
    Honors Nature of Science, Technology, Math
    Gustavo A. Vejarano, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    gvejaran@lmu.edu
    Honors Literary Analysis
    Alexandra Hayward Neel, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
    Humanities Program
    aneel@lmu.edu
    Barbara Rico, Ph.D. Department Chair
    Department of English
    brico@lmu.edu
    Honors Colloquium: Post-Baccalaureate Success
    Cassidy L. Alvarado Director
    Office of National and International Fellowships
    cassidy.alvarado@lmu.edu
    Beyond Good and Evil
    Andrew T. Dilts, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Department of Political Science
    adilts@lmu.edu
    Susan Scheibler, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    School of Television
    sscheibl@lmu.edu
    Honors Colloquium: Portfolio
    Vandana Thadani, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Psychology
    vthadani@lmu.edu
    Honors Thesis
    David Offenberg, Ph.D. Professor
    College of Business Administration
    doffernberg@lmu.edu
    Alexandra Hayward Neel, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
    Humanities Program
    aneel@lmu.edu
    Michele Romolini, Ph.D. Managing Director
    Loyola Marymount University Center for Urban Resilience
    michele.romolini@lmu.edu
    Susan Scheibler, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    School of Television
    sscheibl@lmu.edu
    Melanie Rae Hubbard, Ph.D. Digital Scholarship Librarian
    William H. Hannon Library
    melanie.hubbard@lmu.edu
    Theresia de Vroom, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of English
    tdevroom@lmu.edu
    Honors First Year Seminar: Strange Loops
    Brad Stone, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Philosophy
    bstone@lmu.edu
    Honors First Year Seminar: Jesuit Education: Learning to Change the World
    John T. Sebastian, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of English
    john.sebastian@lmu.edu
    Honors First Year Seminar: Thinking, Feeling, & Being
    Brett M. Marroquin, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
    Department of Psychology
    brett.marroquin@lmu.edu
    Honors First Year Seminar: On the Technological Sublime
    Susan Scheibler, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Film, TV, Video Games
    School of Film and Television
    sscheibl@lmu.edu

    Spring 2020 Faculty

    Honors Philosophical Inquiry
    Daniel Speak, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Philosophy
    dspeak@lmu.edu
    Jason Baehr, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Philosophy
    jbaehr@lmu.edu
    Honors Theological Inquiry
    Amir Hussain, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Theological Studies
    amir.hussain@lmu.edu
    Jonathan Rothchild, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Theological Studies
    jrothchild@lmu.edu
    Honors Historical Analysis and Perspective
    Carla Bittel, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Department of History
    cbittel@lmu.edu
    Honors Nature of Science, Technology, and Math
    David Moffet, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Department of Chemistry
    david.moffet@lmu.edu
    Honors Literary Analysis
    Alexandra Neel, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Director of Humanities
    aneel@lmu.edu
    Robin Miskolcze, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of English
    rmiskolc@lmu.edu
    Honors Colloquium: Post-Baccalaureate Success
    Cassidy L. Alvarado Director
    Office of National and International Fellowships
    cassidy.alvarado@lmu.edu
    Beyond Good and Evil
    Trevor Zink, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
    College of Business Administration
    trevor.zink@lmu.edu
    Honors Colloquium: Portfolio
    Vandana Thadani, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Psychology
    vthadani@lmu.edu
    Honors Ethics and Justice
    Eric Perl, Ph.D. Professor
    Department of Philosophy
    eric.perl@lmu.edu
  • The Honors Advisory Council (HAC) is a committee of university faculty and staff that oversee the University Honors Program. With input from the Student Honors Advisory Council, they help shape the decisions that influence the program.

    Committee Chair

    Vandana Thadani, Ph.D. Director, Honors Program
    Psychology
    Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts
    Vandana.Thadani@lmu.edu

    Faculty

    Hawley Almstedt, Ph.D. Health & Human Sciences
    Seaver College of Science & Engineering
    Hawley.Almstedt@lmu.edu
    Daniel Speak, Ph.D. Philosophy
    Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts
    dspeak@lmu.edu
    Andrew Dilts, Ph.D. Political Science
    Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts
    Andrew.Dilts@lmu.edu
    Elizabeth Drummond, Ph.D. History
    Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts
    Elizabeth.Drummond@lmu.edu
    Caroline Sauvage, Ph.D. Classics and Archaeology
    Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts
    csauvage@lmu.edu
    Susan Scheibler, Ph.D. Film, TV, and Media Studies
    School of Film & Television
    Susan.Scheibler@lmu.edu
    Christopher Finlay, Ph.D. Communication Studies
    College of Communication & Fine Arts
    cfinlay@lmu.edu
    Trevor Zink, Ph.D. Management
    College of Business Administration
    Trevor.Zink@lmu.edu

    Ex Officio

    John Dionisio, Ph.D. Associate Director, Honors Program
    Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    Seaver College of Science and Engineering
    dondi@lmu.edu
    Nubia Valenzuela Senior Administrative Coordinator, Honors Program Nubia.Valenzuela@lmu.edu
    Elisa Acosta, M.L.I.S. Reference Librarian / Library Instruction Coordinator Elisa.Acosta@lmu.edu
    Matt Fissinger, M.A. Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Admission admissions@lmu.edu
    Alexandra Neel, Ph.D. Humanities Program, Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts Alexandra.Neel@lmu.edu
    Terri Mangione, Ph.D. Dean of Students and Vice President for Student Affairs DeanOfStudents@lmu.edu
    José Badenes, S.J., Ph.D. Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education Jose.Badenes@lmu.edu
    Cassidy Alvarado, M.A. Director, Office of National and International Fellowships Cassidy.Alvarado@lmu.edu
    Steven Nygaard Director of Student Housing Steven.Nygaard@lmu.edu
  • Honors Faculty Fellows are professors at Loyola Marymount University that represent their own departments and colleges in relations with the University Honors Program. They help to guide decisions that effect the Honors curriculum and activities, while serving as specific honors resources to students in their departments.

    Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts

    Marne Campbell, Ph.D. African-American Studies Marne.Campbell@lmu.edu
    Andrew Dilts, Ph.D. Political Science Andrew.Dilts@lmu.edu
    Matthew Dillon, Ph.D. Classics and Archeology Matthew.Dillon@lmu.edu
    Katerina Zacharia, Ph.D. Classics and Archeology kzacharia@lmu.edu
    Dorothea Herreiner, Ph.D. Economics Dorothea.Herreiner@lmu.edu
    Bernadette Musetti, Ph.D. Liberal Studies Bernadette.Musetti@lmu.edu
    Amy Woodson-Boulton, Ph.D. History Amy.Woodson-Boulton@lmu.edu
    Alexandra Neel, Ph.D. Humanities Alexandra.Neel@lmu.edu
    Monica Cabrera, Ph.D. Modern Languages and Literatures Monica.Cabrera@lmu.edu
    Brad Stone, Ph.D. Philosophy Brad.Stone@lmu.edu
    John Parrish, Ph.D. Political Science John.Parrish@lmu.edu
    Adam Fingerhut, Ph.D. Psychology Adam.Fingerhut@lmu.edu
    Rebecca Sager, Ph.D. Sociology Rebecca.Sager@lmu.edu
    Charlotte Radler, Ph.D. Theology Charlotte.Radler@lmu.edu
    Stella Oh, Ph.D. Women’s Studies Stella.Oh@lmu.edu
    Caroline Sauvage, Ph.D. Classics and Archaeology csauvage@lmu.edu
    Eliza M. Rodriguez y Gibson, Ph.D. Chicano/a Studies Eliza.RodriguezyGibson@lmu.edu
    Judy H. Park, Ph.D. English Judy.Park@lmu.edu
    Nicholas Brown, Ph.D. Bioethics Institute Nicholas.Brown@lmu.edu

    Seaver College of Science and Engineering

    Kam L. Dahlquist, Ph.D. Biology Kam.Dahlquist@lmu.edu
    David Moffet, Ph.D. Chemistry and Biochemistry David.Moffet@lmu.edu
    Michael Manoogian, Ph.D. Civil Engineering/Environmental Science Michael.Manoogian@lmu.edu
    Barbara Marino, Ph.D. Electrical Engineering Barbara.Marino@lmu.edu
    Hawley Almstedt, Ph.D. Health and Human Sciences Hawley.Almstedt@lmu.edu
    Michael Berg, Ph.D. Mathematics Michael.Berg@lmu.edu
    Jonas Mureika, Ph.D. Physics Jonas.Mureika@lmu.edu

    College of Communication and Fine Arts

    Jane Brucker, Ph.D. Art Jane.Brucker@lmu.edu
    Kirstin Noreen, Ph.D. Art History Kirstin.Noreen@lmu.edu
    Christopher Finlay, Ph.D. Communication Studies Christopher.Finlay@lmu.edu
    Paul Humphreys, Ph.D. Music Paul.Humphreys@lmu.edu
    Rodger Pardee, Ph.D. Recording Arts Rodger.Pardee@lmu.edu
    Kevin Wetmore, Ph.D. Theater Arts Kevin.Wetmore@lmu.edu

    College of Business Administration

    Mahmoud Nourayi, Ph.D. Accounting Mahmoud.Nourayi@lmu.edu
    Trevor Zink, Ph.D. Management Trevor.Zink@lmu.edu
    Ralph Quinones, Ph.D. Marketing/Business Law Ralph.Quinones@lmu.edu

    School of Film and Television

    Thomas Klein, Ph.D. Animation Thomas.Klein@lmu.edu
    Charles Swanson, Ph.D. Film and TV Production Charles.Swanson@lmu.edu
    Susan Scheibler, Ph.D. Film and TV Studies Susan.Scheibler@lmu.edu
    Jeffery Davis, Ph.D. Screenwriting Jeffrey.Davis@lmu.edu
  • The Honors Alumni Ambassadorial Group (HAAG) is comprised of 8-10 alumni of the University Honors Program at LMU. HAAG's aim is to:

    • Serve as a resource for current students when possible.
    • Facilitate contact and communication between the University Honors Program and Honors alumni.
    • Either participate in or help the Honors Program increase participation in Honors Alumni gatherings or events.

    Katherine Brown

    Class of 2010

    Katherine serves as LMU's Director of Mission and Identity Programs in the Office of Mission and Ministry. In her current role, she coordinates internal outreach and formation for LMU faculty and staff, accompanying them in learning about and reflecting on LMU's rich heritage, identity, and mission. In this role, she builds relationships and creates programming in diverse modes, ranging from one on one conversations to campus-wide events, from digital resources to international immersion trips. Before joining Mission and Ministry, she worked in the Academy of Catholic Thought and Imagination and the Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts, where she engaged the university community in programming related to the Catholic intellectual traditions as well as interreligious and ecumenical dialogue.

    Katarina Klask

    Class of 2016

    Katarina majored in animation and minored in computer science, dance, and studio art while at LMU. She is currently a designer specializing in motion graphics at Hello Design, a digital design agency in Culver City.

    Koyya Lewis-Trammell

    Class of 2013

    After graduation, she went to the University of Texas Medical Branch and received a Ph.D. in Rehabilitation Sciences. After receiving her Ph.D. she worked in the private sector and as a Visiting Professor at LMU. She is now settled in a Tenure-Track position in Exercise Science at Cal Poly Pomona.

    Jordan Rehbock

    Class of 2018

    Jordan studied English, Spanish and French as a student in the University Honors Program. He is now completing his Masters in English Literature at LMU while working for the Marymount Institute Press on campus, gaining valuable experience as an aspiring editor and publisher.

    Riley O'Keefe

    Class of 2019

    After graduating with her degree in Marketing, Riley O'Keefe is currently working in marketing for Lucasfilm Games in San Francisco.