New Faculty Orientation 2023 Day One

Tuesday, August 15, 2023

8:15 – 8:30	Check In, St. Roberts Lawn
8:30 - 9:00	Breakfast Buffet, St. Roberts Lawn
9:00 – 10:30	Welcome to Loyola Marymount University, St. Roberts Auditorium
9:00 to 9:10	Welcoming the 2023 Faculty Cohort Kat Weaver, Vice Provost for Research, Professional Development, and Online Learning
9:10 to 9:30	President's Welcome Timothy Law Snyder, President
9:30 - 10:30	What Does it Really Mean to Teach at a Catholic University, St. Roberts Auditorium John Sebastian, Vice President for Mission and Ministry Discussion Facilitators: 1. Jordan Freitas and Marne Campbell, 2. Damon Willick and Anu Prabhala, 3. Jeff Thies and Hawley Almstedt, 4. Cathy McGrath and Mairead Sullivan, 5. Rosemary Kim and Lauren Casella, 6. Nicole Bouvier-Brown and Ernesto Colin, and 7. Stacey Cabaj and Jason Jarvis
10:30 - 10:40	Break
10:40 – 11:10	Discussion – Sexual Harassment , St. Roberts Auditorium Dustin Reece, Director for Human Resources /Learning & Development Janet Lindsey, EEO Officer
11:10 - 11:45	Discussion – FERPA , St. Roberts Auditorium Jennifer Silverman, University Registrar
11:45 - 12:00	Introduction to the Faculty Learning Communities, St. Roberts Auditorium Roberta Espinoza and Jennifer Ramos – Global Learning as Inclusive Excellence Ariane White and Jennifer Williams Fostering a Justice-Oriented Classroom Culture Sherilyn Frazier and Marne Campbell – Student Athletics
12:00 - 1:15	Lunch, St. Roberts Lawn Invocation, John Sebastian, Vice President for Mission and Ministry Table Discussions with the FLC leads
1:30 to 1:40	Welcome from Faculty Senate – Teacher-Scholar Model, St. Roberts Auditorium Leon Wiebers, Faculty Senate President and Professor of Theatre Arts
1:40-3:00	CenterforTeachingExcellenceandFacultyDiscussion,St. Roberts Auditorium KarieHuchting, CTE Director & Professor of Educational Leadership Leon Wiebers, Faculty Senate President and Professor of Theatre Arts
3:00 – 3:15	Break
3:15 - 3:45	Global Local Affairs , <i>Internationalization as Pedagogy and Philosophy</i> , St. Roberts Auditorium Roberta Espinoza, Vice Provost for Global-Local Affairs

3:45 - 4:15	Core Curriculum, St. Roberts Auditorium Arnab Banerji, Director of Core Curriculum Mairead Sullivan, Co-Chair of Core Curriculum Committee
4:15 - 4:20	Group Picture, Regent's Terrace Jon Rou, Assistant Director of Photo and Video
4:20 - 4:55	Campus Walking Tour, Regent's Terrace Student Tour Guides, Tour ends at the Jesuit Community
5:00 - 5:30	Mass (Optional) at the Jesuit Community Chapel Fr. Dorian Llywelyn, S.J., Director of the Center for Ignatian Spirituality
5:30 - 6:10 6:15	Social at the Jesuit Community Garden Dinner at Jesuit Community Garden Welcome, Leon Wiebers, Faculty Senate President and Professor of Theatre Arts Invocation, Eddie Siebert, S.J., Rector of the Jesuit Community and Senior Lecturer Introductions of Senior Leadership and Department Chairs, Provost Poon

New Faculty Orientation 2023 Day Two

Wednesday, August 16, 2023

8:00-9:00	Continental Breakfast, St. Roberts Lawn
9:00 - 10:20	Student Life , St. Roberts Auditorium Terri Mangione, Vice President of Students Affairs and Dean of Students Overview of Student Affairs 9:00-9:35am, Student Panel 9:35-10:20am
10:20 – 10:30	Break
10:30 - 12:00	Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at LMU, St. Roberts Auditorium Emelyn dela Pena, Vice President Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Associate Deans: Eliza Rodriguez, Michele Hammers, Carla Marcantonio, Heather Tarleton, William Parham UCCC co-chair: Mairead Sullivan
12:00 - 1:45	Lunch with Your Dean
	Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts (BCLA) - University Hall 4600
	College of Business Administration (CBA) - Hilton 3rd Floor Terrace
	College of Communications and Fine Arts (CFA) - St. Roberts Hall, STE 1000
	Seaver College of Science and Engineering (SCSE) - Rose Hill Terrace
	School of Education (SOE) - University Hall, Suite 2600; Conference Room 2630
	School of Film and Television (SFTV) - Howard B. Fitzpatrick Pavilion Patio
2:10- 2:40	Public Safety, St Roberts Auditorium Devra Schwartz, Vice President of Safety and Security
2:40 - 3:00	Athletics, St Roberts Auditorium Sherilyn Frazier, Associate Athletics Director
3:00 - 3:10	Office of Online Learning Introduction, St. Roberts Auditorium Jeffrey Schwartz, Director of Digital Learning and Innovation
3:10 - 4:45	Information Technology Services Introduction, St. Roberts Auditorium Crista Copp, Senior Director of Research and Educational Technology Service Educational Technology Services and Support Staff
5:00-6:00	The Heart of Academia: Your Library, VDA Family Suite Kris Brancolini, Dean, William H. Hannon Library
	Tour of the William H. Hannon Library

John Jackson, Librarian