Previous Summer Assessment Grant Recipients

Congratulations to all of our past Summer Assessment Grant recipients on their hard work and dedication to improving assessment efforts in their programs. Below you will find the 2021 grant awardees and descriptions of their projects. More detailed abstracts summarizing the grant work for each project can be found here: Summer Assessment Grant Abstracts 2022

Program: Communication Studies BA
Faculty recipient: Corrina Laughlin
Project: Engaging Students in the Assessment of Collaborative Media Production Projects

Program: Core Curriculum
Faculty recipient: Mairead Sullivan
Project: Current and Ongoing Assessment of the University Core Curriculum

Program: English BA
Faculty recipient: Paul Harris
Project: Developing APRC Proposal for Modification of an Existing Program (English BA)

Program: Environmental Science BS
Faculty recipient: Rachel Adams
Project: Assessing the Environmental Science Program Learning Outcome #7:
Students will demonstrate critical thinking skills needed for assessing and solving problems
relating to environmental issues and policies 

Program: History BA
Faculty recipients: Carla Bittel, Nigel Raab, and Nicolas Rosenthal
Project: Recognizing Complexity and Ambiguity in Historical Knowledge: Assessing Student Research Papers for the Capstone 5000-Level Seminar

Program: Martial and Family Therapy with Specialized Training in Art Therapy MA
Faculty recipient: Maru Serricchio-Joiner
Project: Exploring Our Students Experience Working with Latinx/Hispanic and Spanish Speaking Clients

Program: Mechanical Engineering BSE
Faculty recipients: Matt Siniawski, Brendan Smith, and Mahsa Ebrahim
Project: Development of New Assessment Rubric and Data Collection Tools in support of Continuous Improvement and Maintaining ABET Accreditation

Program: Screenwriting BA
Faculty recipients: Beth Serlin and Stacy Spruill
Project: Norming Rubrics and Assessing Department PLOs for Screenwriting

Program: Sociology BA
Faculty recipients: Anna Muraco, Jim Faught, and Rachel Washburn
Project: Sociology PLO Assessment for Program Review

Program: Theatre Arts BA
Faculty recipients: Christopher Murillo and Leon Wiebers
Project: Beginning and Preparing the Theatre Arts Self Study for NAST Accreditation

back to top