Loyola Marymount University annually recognizes outstanding faculty who have made exemplary contributions in the areas of teaching, scholarship and creative works, extramural funding, and service.  We encourage individuals, programs, departments, and colleges to nominate their most prominent faculty and their outstanding pre-tenure faculty for one of the available awards.   Nominations should be routed through the faculty member’s department chair and Dean’s Office.  Nominators are strongly encouraged to read through the application instructions and confer with their Dean’s office early in the process.

These awards will be presented at the Faculty Awards Ceremony on April 14, 2020 from 2:30-4 pm in Hilton 100, reception to follow in Von der Ahe Family Suite of the William H. Hannon Library from 4–5 pm.

Nominations for Faculty Awards open December 4, 2019. Nominations are due February 11, 2020.


Nominations for Part Time Faculty Teaching Awards open January 10, 2020. Nominations are due February 18, 2020.


Faculty Awards-Uploading Files-Instructions


Past Award Recipients  



President’s Fritz B. Burns Distinguished Teaching Award

Rains Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Works

Rains Award for Excellence in Service


David Choi, Professor of Management

Cheryl Grills, Professor of Psychology

Michael Genovese, Professor of Political Science


Katerina Zacharia, Professor of Classics & Archaeology

Edmundo Litton, Professor of Specialized Programs in Urban Education

Lawrence A. Wenner, Professor of Communication and Fine Arts


Ellen Ensher, Professor of Management

Martha McCarthy, President’s Professor of Educational Leadership

Linda Banister, Professor of English


Christopher K. Chapple, Navin and Pratima Doshi Professor of Indic and Comparative Theology

Ben G. Fitzpatrick, Clarence J. Wallen, S.J., Professor of Mathematics

Judith Royer, S.J., Professor of Theatre Arts & Dance


Andrew J. Rohm, Associate Professor of Marketing & Business Law

Antonia Darder, Leavey Presidential Endowed Chair and Professor of Educational Leadership

James M. Landry, Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry


Ralph Quiñones, Associate Professor of Marketing & Business Law

Lawrence Tritle, Professor of History

Paul A. De Sena, Professor of Educational Support Services


Yvette V. Lapayese, Associate Professor of Specialized Programs in Urban Education

Joseph W. LaBrie, Professor of Psychology

Jennifer S. Abe, Associate Professor of Psychology


Kelly Younger, Professor of English

Thomas Rausch, S.J., T. Marie Chilton Professor of Catholic Theology

Arthur Gross-Schaefer, Professor of Marketing and Business Law




LMU Award for Excellence in Extramural Funding  


Joseph LaBrie, Professor of Psychology





LMU Ascending Scholars


Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts

Sina Kramer, Professor of Women’s Studies


College of Business Administration

Aidin Namin, Professor of Marketing


College of Communication & Fine Arts

Melody Rod-ari, Professor of Art & Art History


Seaver College of Science & Engineering

Demian Willette, Professor of Biology