Committee on Excellence in Teaching

The Committee on the Excellence in Teaching is a university standing committee whose purpose is to promote excellence in teaching, provide high quality professional development in conjunction with the Center for Teaching Excellence, and develop, review, and promote policies and programs within the University that will support and enhance teaching and learning. 

Members: Seven voting members, six selected from the full time faculty, with one representative from each of the colleges/ schools, and one part - time faculty member. The committee also includes the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence as a non - voting ex officio member

Chair: The committee chair is appointed from among the faculty membership by the President on the recommendation by the committee and in consultation with the Faculty Senate. The term of the char is for three years and may be renewed.

Terms of Office: Faculty members serve for a three-year term. Faculty members may serve two consecutive terms before terming out.


Current Members


Fulya Ersoy, Ph.D.

BCLA | Economics | 2023



Hai Tran, Ph.D.


CBA | Finance | 2022



Judy Battaglia, Ph.D.

CFA | Communication Studies | 2023


Emily Jarvis, Ph.D.


CSE | Chemistry & Biochemistry | 2023


Michael Daley

SFTV | M.F.A Production | 2022


Fernando Estrada, Ph.D.

SOE | Specialized Programs in Professional Psychology | 2022


Ex Officio - Karie Huchting, Ph.D.

     Director Center for Teaching Excellence



Fall 2020 Interim Committee Member

       Antonia Petro

        BCLA | Modern Languages & Literatures